Abby Walke-Studying Abroad in Costa Rica

Image

So I’ve been back in the U.S. for a little over a week now and it’s been great! I finished off both of my classes with A’s and spent my last day in Costa Rica relaxing on a beach by the Pacific. I will definitely miss my host family and all the friends I made in Costa Rica! It’s so weird being back when I feel like I just got to Costa Rica yesterday. Overall, it was an amazing experience that I would do again in a heartbeat. I wouldn’t do much different except for probably going through a different study abroad program. I went through CIS abroad, without knowing that it didn’t go on as many weekend trips as the other programs. Everything else was pretty good though.

Overall, this summer was a once in a lifetime experience. The trip to Grenada was definitely my favorite because everything was planned out for my group to get the most out of the island and learn a lot about medicine in the two weeks. The professors were so knowledgeable and showed me how a medical school in Caribbean could be just as good, if not better, than most of the medical schools in the U.S. Although I don’t plan on attending St. George’s Medical School in the future, it is definitely a well-established institute and I made a lot of good friends while I was there.  We even have a reunion planned for next year at Disney World!

The trip to Costa Rica definitely taught me how to be more independent. In Grenada, we had RAs to sit outside the dorm buildings, curfews, and were assigned groups that had to have debriefings every morning. In Costa Rica, I was surprised on how much freedom we were to roam the city. We always usually travelled in groups anyway, but other times we were on our own. Luckily I never got lost! I will definitely miss a lot of things about Costa Rica. I already want to go back! I would absolutely recommend that anyone study abroad if they have the chance. After college, most people get a job and settle down, so during college is the best opportunity to travel and explore the world. Also it will give an amazing experience that you’ll never forget!

One of my zip-lining pictures:

Image

And a picture from this rock climbing gym that my friend and I found in downtown San Jose:

Image

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

