Abby Walke-Interning as a Medical Scribe

Hi everyone! I’m currently interning as a medical scribe at a local hospital. To start this internship, I had to go through a couple weeks of training that involved learning medical terminology, abbreviations for that terminology, and how to write and structure a patient’s history. When I started my internship in early February, I was really nervous. I was assigned in the emergency department so there was no way of knowing what I’d see.

            I follow the doctor around from patient to patient. When they enter a room and introduce themselves, I go directly to a computer in the room and type up what the patient says about their injury or illness and any of their answers to the doctor’s questions. I highlight any symptoms they mentioned and lastly, I fill in any information the doctor might add about their physical exam. When we finished visiting that patient, I go to another computer and finish up my note so I could share it with the doctor I was assigned to.

            So far, I love this internship! It has given me the opportunity to learn more about the inner workings of a hospital and see a variety of patients. I’ll post more details about my internship soon so stay tuned! 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

