Amy Rader, Madrid, Spain

So this is my first blog post for Albright College’s Experiential Learning and Career Development Center.  And my first blog post ever.  My name is Amy Rader and I am 22 years old.  I am starting my 5th and final year of college and I am studying abroad.  I am doing a one month Summer session in Spain, then I will be home for the month of August.  After that, I will be studying in Paris for the Fall 2014 semester.  I leave for Madrid…tomorrow.  I’m only starting to freak out a little, but I’m also really excited. 

I am a double language major studying French and Spanish.  I figured with that as a major, I would be crazy not to study somewhere.  Also, I have this incredibly huge passion for travel and adventure.  Once I chose my major, I knew I just had to figure out which city I would choose.  Or cities.  I decided the only way I was going to master these languages was to take the time and focus on each of them individually.  Two cities it was going to be.   Paris was the easiest choice ever because I have been studying French since middle school and have been in love with the idea of living in Paris for years.  Since I was going to Europe for French, I figured I would open the doors to a second European country.  Madrid is the capital and the direct center of the country. And I have a love for big cities.  I want to see people, and lights, and excitement, so Madrid wasn’t that hard for me to chose either.

The hardest decision was choosing a company to travel with.  I went the Albright’s study abroad fair with high hopes, and left with a huge stack of books and pamphlets from every table.  I was even more lost than before going.  Until a met a woman who worked for API.  She was informative and very kind.  She told me all about their company, prices, excursions and reasons why they were a good solid company.  After that I made my decision and started the long journey of filling out forms.  Forms for API, forms for Albright, forms for loans, it was basically like taking another class.  But everything went smoothly (for the most part) and now I am finalizing my packing and getting my passport together.

So like I said, I leave for Madrid….tomorrow.  Panic has not completely set in yet.  I am very nervous about my language skills and my host family.  I will be living with a woman named Esperanza one the 5th floor of an apartment building in the middle of the capital of Spain.  She has a daughter who no longer lives with her, and a pleather of animals.  There will also be a girl from the same program living there as well.  Which I am super happy about because it is a 40 minute commute to the school.  I don’t know what classes I’ll be taking yet because I have to be placed into them.  I do know that the first weekend I am there, I will be going on an excursion to Toledo.

Tomorrow is the day I have spent months preparing for.  I have completed all my requirements and now all I can do is wait.  And totally stress out.  My goal for this trip is to keep an open mind, open heart, and an adventurous attitude!

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • albrightelcdc  On June 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    Yay Amy! All of your diligent planning has paid off. We wish you safe travels and can’t wait to read more of your blog.

Leave a Reply

