Amanda Kopil: The City of Reading GIS Intern/DCNR Tree Surveyor

 

I cannot believe it has been two weeks already! There have been so many things that I have learned so quickly within these two weeks. Right away my supervisor started me with a project the moment I walked into the door! Sounds scary right? Well actually, to my surprise as well, I knew exactly what she as expecting of me for this project. Thank you Dr. Mech!!! When I took my GIS course at Albright I was taught the different online sites that offer certain information regarding projects that I might come across. This prior knowledge was key for this project! Everyday or so I have begun new projects and some little tasks here and there to help around the office (administrative work ;)). This is all part of the learning experience though… so I hear!

Reading back to my last blog it is comical how nervous I was to begin this new internship. There really is not much for me to nervous about because I am more prepared then I would have ever imagined! The work environment that I am in is very relaxing and stress-free. This makes for a smooth and steady work day even when everyone else is running around trying to fix problems they still seem to keep their feet on the ground and ask what my plans are for the 4th of July. Maybe I got lucky with the people that I get to work with but it really is great.

As far as the tree surveying goes; it’s going! Walk walk walk walk walk walking (But Hey, I’ll take the exercise)! After my internship I go out and survey trees with my partner. Everything is going very smoothly with that and my partners and I keep in constant contact with progress and weather of course! Well I hope that my next two weeks are as smooth sailing and successful as these last two!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

