Milca Mendez-3D Printing

photo

Hello Again!

I have had such an eventful week! The week started of by finishing two of my synthesis pieces. My synthesis pieces are jewelry pieces inspired by dentistry that I can wear to dental school interviews! I still have to make my necklace, but I finished designing earrings and a brooch. I also finished a screw that will be the clasp for my necklace (symbolizing an implant). Now I just have to print them!! This past week I was also able to visit and shadow Dr. Schwab’02 at his dental practice in Blandon, PA (I got to wear my scrubs!!). Dr. Schwab’s staff taught me how to make plaster models and I was able to use the CEREC machine. CEREC stands for Chairside Economical Restoration of Esthetic Ceramics. It is an amazing machine that can make a crown in about twenty minutes. The CEREC machine, similar to the 3D Printer uses CAD/CAM technology to design and make the restoration.

It so interesting to see how technology is revolutionizing dentistry and I am excited to see how dentistry evolves in the coming years. I have had a great time with my ACRE and I hope to incorporate it into my honor’s thesis! My ACRE has also increased my excitement for dental school!!Screen Shot 2014-07-30 at 3.40.42 PM

(The design of my dental brooch and earrings)

Dentist in Salem, Massachusetts

(The CEREC Machine)

photo 2

(Making Plaster Models)

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

