Amy Rader, Paris, France

So the halfway point has come and gone.  Since my last post, so many things have happened.  I took a trip to Normandy and visited Mont St. Michel and the Omaha beaches.  It was an incredible experience.  We were able to walk on the sand surrounding the city.  It was awesome.  Since it was low tide, the sand was wet and gross but it was beautiful anyways.  There were spots of quicksand, so we had a guide.  The Omaha beaches were absolutely gorgeous.  It was also a very emotional place with the American cemetery.  It truly was a place of history.

Mont St. Michel

Omaha Beaches

Since then, I have been working on checking off things on my list of all the things I want to do before I leave Paris.   I visited the Tulieries garden, Place de la Concorde (where Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette were beheaded), La Madeleine, Les Invalides (where Napoleon is buried) and Cemetery du Pere Lachaise.  All these places are beautiful and so interesting.  I am continuing to check things off my list.  I also went to a haunted house for Halloween.  It was terrifying.  I really don’t do good with horror or scary things, I don’t even really know why I went.  It was free, so maybe that’s why. I probably won’t do that ever again.

For the past week, I had a vacation from school for All Saint’s Day.  I went to Lisbon, Portugal to visit a good friend who lives there.  I was there for 8 days and it was great.  I got to see so much of the city and the coast of Portugal.  I also had a chance to relax, which was much needed.  Being in Portugal  was the first time in my life that I was in a country where I knew NONE of the language.  It was also my 4th country to eat McDonald’s in.  I don’t know if I should be proud of that or not. It might be more after I go to London this weekend.  Anyway, Portugal was so warm, 75-80 everyday.  The sun was always shining.  I visited the most western place in all of continental Europe.  Being on the coast was incredibly beautiful. I’d love to go back someday.

Sintra, Portugal

Carmo Ruins, Lisbon, Portugal

Belem, Portugal and Boca de Inferno(top right)

Lisbon Cathedral, Castelo de Sao Jorge, Portugal

Moor Castle Ruin (my favorite place in all of Portugal)

So as I said, I am going to London tomorrow. I’m so excited.  I’ll let you know how it goes!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

