Amy Rader, Paris, France

This is it.  I go home in 5 days.  I leave Paris and all of its beautiful sites.  I am pumped.

Not to say that I regret my decision to come here at all, this is the most incredible journey of my life.  I’ve had many ups and downs, and I’ve grown immensely.  Plus, I’ve gotten much better at French.  I’m no where near fluent, but I can read and listen and comprehend so much more than when I first arrived.  However, it is almost Christmas and I am ready to see my friends and family.  To be very hipster and quote Passenger “You only hate the road when you’re missing home” and that is definitely me right now.

Canal St Martin

Rodin Museum

The Thinker-Rodin

However, I have been making the best of my last few weeks here.  I have been working on finishing all the things on my list.  I can proudly say there is only 1 thing left, a park, which I plan on visiting tomorrow after class.  Recently, I visited Rodin Museum, Palais Garnier/Opera, Centre George Pompidou, Musee de l’Orangerie, and the Picasso Museum.  I am diligently crossing each site off my list as I visit them.  It is very satisfying to work on achieving this goal.

Palais Garnier

Opera

Centre George Pompidou

Picasso Museum

Also, last weekend was my program’s last excursion and Christmas/farewell party.  It was a good time! We visited Vaux-le-Vicomte, a castle, which kind of just looks like a big mansion as opposed to a castle, but it was absolutely lovely and filled with Christmas trees.  It definitely helped put me in the Christmas spirit!  Which was much needed not being able to decorate my apartment.  However, almost of all my shopping is done, not that shopping is something that can ever be totally complete.  The Christmas dinner was wonderful.  The food was excellent and there were games and songs and decorations.  It was a very nice way to end the trip.

Vaux-le-Vicomte

Vaux-le-Vicomte

Vaux-le-Vicomte (legit, no joke, this entire thing is made out of CHOCOLATE!)

For my last 5 days, I plan on (seeing the park tomorrow, of course) having dinner with my French friend, grabbing some last minute purchases, revisiting some of my favorite places in Paris, and just taking it all in.  I don’t know when I’ll be back, but I do know that this isn’t “au revoir” I’m simply saying “A bientot, Paris!”

bises xox

Le mur des je t’aime (the wall of I love you, written in many different languages) Montmartre

This is just a crepe I had the other day and it was really good.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

