Stephan Brown, Study Abroad-Nicosia, Cyprus Week 4

“Travel changes you. As you move through this life and this world you change things slightly, you leave marks behind, however small. And in return, life – and travel – leaves marks on you. Most of the time, those marks – on your body or on your heart – are beautiful. Often, though, they hurt.” – Anthony Bourdain

It has officially been a month since I have been in Cyprus and I can honestly say that I am starting to witness the change in myself . I do not judge people as much as I used to, I try to be friendly with everyone instead of specific people, I am willing to try new things and I am not afraid to explore unfamiliar territory. Being in another country makes you more aware with what’s going on in the world and it unlocks certain personality traits that you never thought you had. Everyday I lose a piece of my old self and gain a replacement piece that is helping me grow into the leader that I always wanted to be.

1462791_912153672149530_6154699283113127288_o

Well this week started off with the Global Semesters crew coming together for a pre Valentine’s Day get together in the town. It was the first time in a few weeks that we all came together in the same place for an event so of course we enjoyed ourselves.

vday

        (Vern, Laura, Tiffany, Miguel, Myself, Keenan, Caleb, Ellen, Joey, Aaron)

 

On Valentine’s Day we had to wake up bright and early for our day trip to Northern Cyprus. Our first stop was the St. Nicholas Church located in Famagusta. The St.Nicholas Church was converted into a Mosque in the 1500’s but they included a section for Christian people to pray as well. The architecture of this mosque was amazing and when you enter you automatically feel at peace.

10995959_912152085483022_5116064321365943412_o

SAM_1014

(St. Nicholas Cathedral)

On our next stop we went to Famagusta Bay where the water is crystal blue and the beach is perfectly clean. The ocean air smells amazing and I even got a chance to see some locals go for a swim (It was pretty cold that day so good for them!)…If I had my swim trunks I would have jumped in with them in a heartbeat.

11001609_912152255483005_8925092386119022206_o (1)

10987651_10203438757796507_185621016150513342_n

(These guys are the real MVP’s for swimming in the cold)

 

Our day trip concluded in Kyrenia where we got the chance to explore the Kyrenia Castle.  Once you are at the top of this castle you get a 360 degree view of epicness. Everywhere you turn you want to take a picture and every angle you look at is beautiful. We even did a group happy valentines day video while we were at the top as well :).

10957571_10206053142031985_4518286505667747810_o (1)

(We are on top of the world!)

SAM_1070

(Kyrenia Castle)

The next day a local Cypriot that I met at my university invited my friends and I to a local soccer match between Omonia and Apollon. This was the first time in my life that I went to a soccer game and now it tops the list on my craziest sporting event experiences. Within 15 minutes of arriving at the stadium and sitting in our seats, it began to rain. Neither Aaron, Joey, Miguel or myself brought an umbrella and we did not wear rain coats. Within seconds the rain poured harder and we all decided to run under the stadium entrance until the rain calmed down. Now imagine hundreds of people crowding under the entrance of the stadium trying to stay dry(I felt like I was at a standing room only concert for my favorite band). Eventually the rain turned into hail and by that point we were all soaked, cold and tired of waiting so we decided to just watch the game in the rain( Actually Joey aka the iceman led the pack and influenced us to not to miss our game because of the rain). Two hours later Omonia lost to Apollon and the crowd went crazy in disappointment (Omonia is the local team of Nicosia!)… I never got so into a game then on that day and although everything that could possibly go wrong happened, I still had an awesome time! #IceColdWarriors

10952089_10203445650648824_3100240585501216172_o(Omonia Fans!)

I also got the opportunity to spend the day at the largest Public Relations and Communications firm in the Mediterranean; Action Global Communications. They operate in over 40 countries across Central and Eastern Europe, the Balkans, the Baltics, Russia, the CIS countries, Central Asia, the Middle East, North Africa and the Eastern Mediterranean.  I got to meet the Local PR team as well as Global PR team. I even got a chance to work with the digital communications department on an email campaign for their new website called My Cyprus Insider.

SAM_1160
(The Actions Global Communications Team)

Please be sure to check out My Cyprus Insider for all the news regarding places to travel, eat and events that are held all over the island of Cyprus!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

