Khadijah Dixon Internship at the Philadelphia Juvenile Probation

20150731_070035

My $3 suit from the salvation army.

“Opportunities are like sunrises. If you wait too long, you will miss them.” Being at my internship has truly opened my eyes to a variety of career options that I did not even know were possible with my major. Many of them have truly interested me to the point that I sometimes do research on certain careers to get an idea of what I want to do. Although I have not quite nailed down exactly what I wanted to do after graduating, I now have a path that I am interested in going down. Since beginning my internship I have gained a new project. It involves making sure that the tops of probation procedures are changed to the new label. I believe that it will give me new computer skills.

Throughout my internship I have confirmed that I am not the trendiest person in the world, I have learned through the Lion Diplomats how to dress professionally on a college budget. You would be surprised at what you can pull from your closet that can be considered professional. The solid colored t-shirts with a nice pair of pants and shoes can be considered a great choice. Or you can always go to a thrift store on their half priced days and find a nice suit for $3.

Also I have toured the Juvenile Justice Center in the past week. I enjoyed it to the fullest. I was able to talk to people who did the intake of the juveniles which involves gathering information about the family and setting a court date. Also at times a juvenile can be placed on a program to help them stay out of trouble. There was a fire drill that day. Although that is not the most interesting thing, it gave me a chance to observe and see how many roles go into running things at the juvenile justice center. Then I was allowed to go see a few cases that were presented to the master (a different type of judge). These court proceedings are not the trials, but are hearings to determine if the child will be held or released to the parent.

In the last few days I had the opportunity to attend Drug Treatment Court. It was different than the court setting that I saw at the juvenile justice center because there was a meeting prior to the child coming in for their case. During that meeting they discussed what the best road was for the child. I liked it. All of the tips on professionalism that I learned throughout the years has truly helped me while I was in court but also during my internship. Some of them were always being on time, if you have questions never be afraid to ask no matter how many times you think you are annoying someone. Also don’t be afraid to ask about things outside of “the box”, you may be surprised at what people will tell you. The most important one, in my opinion, is be kind and courteous to others because those people could be your sunrise and you should want to get as much of their vitamins as you can while they are up.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

