Khadijah Dixon Internship at the Philadelphia Juvenile Probation Office

20150729_083426My overall experience after completing my internship was one of the best I have ever had. Although I did not have as much field experience as the parole officers do, I still enjoyed being in the offices. Being in the office allowed me to experience multiple positions such as working in the training unit, seeing and doing some of the things juvenile probation officers do. Also, I had the chance to help with the sheriff’s desk. I believe that I have experienced most if not all of the positions inside of the family court, expect for being a judge (I need a few more years of schooling). Although I was not paid for my time there, I could never put a price tag on the amount of experience and knowledge that I have gained this summer.

             20150830_194447   Over the course of the summer I was asked many questions about my next step in life. Some of those questions were did I want to be a probation officer? Do I know what I want to do? I always answered them honestly and said “I’m not sure. I’m just going with the flow and staying open minded”. That is very true because since I choose to do my internship earlier than most, I’m still unsure about where my path will take me. I do however want to experience being a juvenile probation officer and having the chance to help families, but I am also very open to trying new things within the criminal justice system. Also I never expected to even try the juvenile probation sector since I was determined to be a juvenile lawyer, but when I took a step back  I saw that I was limiting myself and when I stopped I saw there were many opportunities for me to try and pursue.

                A quote by John Maxwell summarizes my experience over the summer the best. “Growth demands a temporary surrender of security. It may mean giving up familiar but limiting patterns, safe but unrewarding work , values no longer believed in, and relationships that have lost their meaning.” This quote shows that it takes one to get out of their comfort zone in order for greater things to come to their way. Had I not chosen to step away from the lawyer side, I most likely would not have even considered to try juvenile probation. This quote should be kept in mind when one is searching for an internship or study abroad program or considering an ACRE because when one limits themselves it stops them from reaching new heights. So never be afraid to step outside of the box. I hope you enjoyed my experiences as much as I have enjoyed sharing them. J

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

